Coupeville senior catcher Sarah Wright was named the North Sound Conference’s Defensive Player of the Year in softball. (Photo by John Fisken)

Coupeville senior catcher Sarah Wright was named the North Sound Conference’s Defensive Player of the Year in softball. (Photo by John Fisken)

Coupeville, Oak Harbor spring athletes earn all-league honors

Eleven Coupeville and five Oak Harbor High School athletes received first-team, all-league honors this spring.

In addition, Coupeville’s Kevin McGranahan was named the North Sound Conference’s Coach of the Year in softball, leading his team to a share of the league crown.

Three of McGranahan’s players earned first-team honors, led by senior Sarah Wright, who was chosen the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. She was joined on the first team by infielder Scout Smith and outfielder Emma Mathusek.

Chelsea Prescott, Veronica Crownover and Izzy Wells were second-team selections.

Oak Harbor softball player Miranda Wilson was honorable mention in the Western Conference.

Coupeville’s Danny Conlisk was first team in three events in boys track: the 200 and 400 meters and in the 4×100 relay with Tiger Johnson, Sean Toomey-Stout and Jean Lund Olsen.

Lund Olsen was first team in the 100, Toomey-Stout in the long jump and Koa Davisson in the high jump.

Earning second-team honors were Conlisk (100), Lund Olsen (200), Ryan Labrador (shot put) and Toomey-Stout (triple jump).

In Oak Harbor, Joseph Ralston, Josh Stone, Bennett Andersen and Caden Leckelt were second team Wesco North in the 4×400, while Michael Fisken (discus) and Juan Luna-Elliott (long jump and high jump) were honorable mention.

In girls track, Coupeville’s Emma Smith (shot put) and Maya Toomey-Stout (long jump) were first-team selections.

Mallory Kortuem was second team in four events, including the 400, the pole vault and two relays. She was joined on the 4×100 team by Maya Toomey-Stout, Lindsey Roberts and Ja’Tarya Hoskins; and on the 4×200 team by Toomey-Stout, Roberts and Ja’Kenya Hoskins.

Roberts was also second team in the 100 hurdles, and Smith in the discus.

Oak Harbor picked up Wesco North first-team honors in girls track in the 4×400 relay (Courtney VanGiesen, Brenna Rothman, Natalie French and Morgan Pease).

French was second team in the 800, as was Cami Bristow in the javelin and the 4×100 team (Brooke Treichel, Jessica Vester, Maria Dailey and Karmyn McKee).

Pease was honorable mention in the 400 and 4×200 relay with Vester, Dailey and Leielle Salinger.

In soccer, Coupeville’s Aram Leyva was named North Sound Conference first-team midfielder, while forward Derek Leyva and defender Sam Wynn were second team.

Earning honorable mention for Oak Harbor were midfielders Mason Rhodes and Jonathan Tang, defender Taiveyon Shaw and forward Nathan Merrill.

Coupeville baseball players Gavin Knoblich (catcher), Dane Lucero (first base), Matt Hilborn (shortstop) and Jake Pease (outfield) were all second-team selections.

Second-teamers in the Wesco North for Oak Harbor were Jacksyn Pawlowicz (pitcher), Aiden McCarthy (catcher), Noah Meffert (infield) and Austin Boesch (outfield).

Taylor Rummel, Caleb Fitzgerald, Thomas Anderson, Jack Lovendale and Donny Kloewer were all honorable mention.

Oak Harbor’s Nick Krantz was first team Wesco North in boys golf.

The North Sound Conference does not hand out all-league awards in tennis; however, Coupeville’s Avalon Renninger and Tia Wurzrainer finished second in the league doubles tournament.

More in Sports

Whidbey Golf Club holds 2 events

Golf was one of the first sports to reopen, enabling Whidbey Golf… Continue reading

Whidbey Island athletes create news during lockdown

Organized athletic activities came to a screeching halt in March, but not… Continue reading

Scout’s honor: Smith commits to being her best

“I cannot even begin to fathom my life without sports.” And for… Continue reading

Oak Harbor coach Jon Atkins resigns / Girls basketball

Oak Harbor High School girls basketball coach Jon Atkins resigned Monday, March… Continue reading

Winter athletes receive letters, awards, league honors

While the coronavirus put the brakes on spring sports, it did not… Continue reading

Whidbey Golf Club makes changes because of virus

The Whidbey Golf Club has made several changes to its services because… Continue reading

Sports shut down along with schools

Coupeville and Oak Harbor High School athletes have had their spring seasons… Continue reading

Spring prep preview / Oak Harbor girls golf

Oak Harbor Girls Golf Coach: Andy Wesley. 2019 record: Fourth in Wesco… Continue reading

Stone chosen for all-star game / Alumni update

Prior to the sports world being shut down, Coupeville High School graduate… Continue reading

Spring prep preview/ Oak Harbor boys golf

Oak Harbor Boys Golf Coach: David Smith. 2019 record: Third in Wesco… Continue reading

Spring prep preview / Coupeville tennis

Coach: Ken Stange. 2019 record: 2-7, 2-6, fourth in North Sound Conference.… Continue reading

Spring prep preview / Oak Harbor tennis

Coach: Malia Turner. 2019 record: 7-7; 4-2, third place in Wesco North.… Continue reading