St. Clair, Hazelo ahead in primary results

The candidates for a seat on the Island County Board of commissioners were narrowed to two in the Aug. 2 primary election.

In races affecting Whidbey Island residents, Democrats and incumbents did surprisingly well, at least so far. The county Election Office reports that 10,428 ballots have been counted and an estimated 12,000 are left to count.

With the first count of ballots Tuesday night, it is apparent that incumbent Commissioner Janet St. Clair, a Democrat, and Republican Timothy Hazelo will move on to the General Election.

St. Clair received 1,856 votes, or 52.8%, and Hazelo got 1,263 ballots cast in his favor, which is nearly 36%. The third candidate, Republican former commissioner Rick Hannold, got 396 votes, or about 11%.

While nobody was eliminated in the two races for District 10 state representatives, the results may be seen as foreshadowing.

Clyde Shavers, a Democrat from Oak Harbor, received about 53% of the vote so far while the Republican incumbent, Rep. Greg Gilday of Stanwood, has nearly 47%.

In the other race, incumbent Rep. Dave Paul, a Democrat from Oak Harbor, won more than 55% of the vote while his Republican challenger, Karen Lesetmoe of Oak Harbor, got about 44%.

Likewise, no candidates were eliminated in county races besides the commissioner contest, but the results may show a trend.

In the race for the county’s top law enforcement official, Sheriff Rick Felici, a Republican, received about 62% of the vote and challenger Lane Campbell, also a Republican, got nearly 38%.

In the contest to be the next county assessor, Theodore Kubisiak, unaffiliated, and Kelly Mauck, a Republican, look like they have a tight race. Kubisiak has 50.8% and Mauck has 49.2%.

In the race to be the next treasurer, Tony Lam, a Democrat, has nearly 60% and Richard MacQuarrie, a Republican, has 40%.

Longtime county Auditor Sheilah Crider, a Republican, received about 52% of the vote and challenger Barbara Fuller, a Democrat, has 48%.

Longtime county Clerk Debra Van Pelt, a Democrat, won 64.5% and Dierdre Butler, who states no party preference, has 35.5%.

In the race for U.S. representative in District 2, it appears that incumbent Rep. Rick Larsen, a Democrat, and Dan Matthews, a Republican, will continue in the race. Larsen currently has about 48% of the vote and Matthews has about 17.5%.

In the contest for the U.S. Senate, incumbent Sen. Patty Murray, a Democrat, has 54% and Tiffany Smiley, a Republican, has about 32%.