Wolves receive varsity letters, team awards and league honors

Several Coupeville High School athletic teams recently announced their varsity letter winners, team award selections and all-conference choices.


Volleyball is the only sport in the Olympic League to have released its all-conference selections as of press time, and the league champion Wolves dominated the list.

Junior Katrina McGranahan was named the conference’s 1A Most Valuable Player and first-year coach Cory Whitmore was selected Coach of the Year.

Senior Valen Trujillo and junior Hope Lodell were first-team choices, and junior Lauren Rose received honorable mention.

McGranahan and Trujillo were first-team selections in 2015 as well.

Trujillo finished her career with 550 digs, a school record.

Lodell served 110 aces this year, which not only set a new school single-season record but passed the school career record of 109 set by Mindy Horr. Lodell has 141 career aces.

Letter and team awards will be announced Thursday, Nov. 17, at the team banquet.


Senior captains Kiara Burdge and Kaela Hollrigel were among the 23 girls who received varsity letters in cheer this fall.

Junior Claire Mietus received the Wolf Award, exchange student Sophie Furtjes won the Coaches Award, freshman Mica Shipley was named Most Spirited and freshman Ja’Tarya Hoskins was honored as the Most Improved.

Other letter winners were Ashleigh Battaglia, Amber Benway, Julie Bucio, Robin Cedillo, Maggie Crimmins, Lainey Dickson, Natasha Estes, Kaley Grigsby, Naika Hallam, Abby Hamilton, Natalie Hollrigel, Jaden Marrs, Nancy Melendrez-Partida, Mckenzie Meyer, Mira Mostafavinassab, Heather Nastali and Moira Reed.


The Wolves, coached by Troy Cowan, collected eight wins this season, the best in school history.

That charge was led by team Most Valuable Player junior Mia Littlejohn, who punched in a school record 27 goals, easily surpassing the old mark of 10 set by her sophomore sister Kalia in 2015.

Senior Lauren Grove was tabbed as the Defensive Player of the Year, senior captain Bree Daigneault received the leadership award, freshman Mallory Kortuem was Rookie of the Year and freshman Megan Thorn earned Most Improved.

Other letter winners were seniors May Rose and Megan DePorter; juniors Lauren Bayne and Sage Renninger; sophomores Lindsey Roberts and Kalia Littlejohn; and freshmen Tia Wurzrainer and Avalon Renninger.

Other sports

Coupeville did not field an official cross country team this fall, but two Wolves, junior Henry Wynn and sophomore Danny Conlisk, trained and competed with South Whidbey and then represented Coupeville in the postseason.

The football and tennis teams had not released their awards as of press time.

More in Sports

Hilborn leads Wolves over Chimacum; teams now tied for 1st / Baseball

Behind a three-hit shutout by Matt Hilborn, the Coupeville High School baseball… Continue reading

Wildcats place 2nd in 6-team match / Boys golf

In one of its better showings of the season, the Oak Harbor… Continue reading

League leaders blank ‘Cats / Tennis

The Snohomish High School tennis team stayed unbeaten by defeating Oak Harbor… Continue reading

MG charges by Wildcats / Girls golf

Marysville Getchell recorded five of the top six scores on the way… Continue reading

Warriors trip up Oak Harbor / Softball

The Oak Harbor High School softball team fell 8-1 to visiting Edmonds-Woodway… Continue reading

Wolves overwhelm Friday Harbor, Lopez / Track

It was a rarity, the Coupeville High School track team competing against… Continue reading

Wildcat Battalion finishes 2nd at regional Navy meet / JROTC

The Oak Harbor High School Navy Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps placed… Continue reading

Armstrong, Lee lead local runners in 2018 Whidbey Marathon

Oak Harbor’s Joshua Armstrong and Coupeville’s Bethany Lee were the top local… Continue reading

Coupeville wraps up conference title / Softball

It was a just split over the weekend for the Coupeville High… Continue reading

Most Read