Track: Oak Harbor, Coupeville athletes receive letters, special awards

Oak Harbor and Coupeville high school track athletes recently received team awards.

The Wildcats were led by Shantae Young who placed in two events at the state meet and signed a letter of intent to compete for Washington State University next year. Tyler King topped Coupeville with two state titles.

Oak Harbor

Forty-eight Oak Harbor High School track team members received varsity letters this spring.

Four boys earned special awards along with their varsity letters: Matt Bolte, Most Valuable Runner; Matt Reith and Jason Curles, Coaches’ Award; and Josh Sayre, Most Improved.

Donovan Hunt, Jason Curles, Aaron Boesch and Josiah Miller qualified for the state meet in the 4x100 relay.

Four girls also picked up special awards: Allison Duvenez, Coaches’ Award; Adrianna Royal, Distance Runner of the Year; Naomi Walker, Sprinter of the Year; and Young, Jumper of the Year.

Young placed third in the state in the triple jump and eighth in the long jump. Walker finished seventh in the 200 and 10th in the 100. The pair joined Christina Alexander and Janessa Ramos to place ninth in the 4x100 relay.

Nicole Mowbray placed 10th in the state high jump and 11th in the triple jump.

Other letter winners for the boys included Joel Atienza, Brylle Baranda, Robert Beadles, Austin Church, Derrick Clarit, Jeshaiah Davis, Justin Everett, Cody Hernkind, Josh Higbee, Thomas Honeycutt, Josh McVey, Conner Meyer, Chris Opdyke, Javon Payne, Lucas Salmons, Sam Schultz, Dakota Sinchak and Dehuan Zheng.

Other girls picking up varsity letters were Amanda Alvarado, Emily Bain, Hannah Bressler, Katelyn Bristow, Jessica Denmon, Megan Duhrkopf, Dominique Jackson, Jember Jansen, Abby Leete, Hannah Kagey, Maura McKole, Taylor VonGrey, Christina Wicker, Ciera Wiser, Raeanna Wynne and Janelle Yoshimoto.


Thirteen Coupeville track team members earned varsity letters this year.

Head coach Randy King awarded letters to 10 boys: Davion Watkins, Zach Piercy, Mitch Pelroy, Tyler King, Will Hoskins, Hunter Hammer, Garret Franzen, Dalton Engle, David Donley and Chase Bates.

Three girls, Jai’lyssa Hoskins, Kyra Ilyankoff and Anna Bailey, earned letters.

King was the state 1A 3,200 and 1,600 champion and placed second in the 800. He set school records this season in the 1,600 (4:15.28) and 800 (1:55.34).

Hammer was eighth at state in the shot put and earlier in the year set a school record (51-00.5) in the event.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates