OHHS, CHS name Athletes of Year, other athletic honors

Oak Harbor’s Matt Bolte and Jessica Denmon, and Coupeville’s Jason Bagby, Tyler King and Megan Smith each earned Athlete of the Year honors last week.

More details about each student-athlete will be posted within the next few days.

Athlete of the Year wasn’t the only athletic honor handed out by Oak Harbor High School at its spring awards assemblies last Friday morning and evening.

Three other special athletic awards were presented, and Bolte also picked up two of those.

He and senior classmate Shantae Young received the Cliff Gillies Award from the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association. The award is based upon academic effort (not grade point average), sportsmanship and citizenship.

Gillies was a long-time and highly respected high-school coach and administrator and WIAA administrator.

Bolte also received the U.S. Marine Corp Distinguished Athlete Award along with junior Allison Duvenez. To receive this honor, an athlete must be a varsity team member, a high-school junior or senior, a leader among his or her peers and an outstanding young citizen.

Seniors Rashaad Smith and Erin Neilon were the recipients of the U.S. Army Reserve Scholar Athlete Award.

This award is given to athletes who excelled in any organized sport during the school year and demonstrated a strong, above average academic performance.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates