Whidbey News-Times


Oak Harbor, Coupeville athletes receive all-league honors

Whidbey News-Times Sports editor
June 9, 2014 · 8:16 AM

Oak Harbor and Coupeville high school athletes made an impression on their conference opponents this spring.

In all, 50 earned all-league honors; 18 were first-team selections.

Fifteen of the first-team choices were from Oak Harbor, and five of those were seniors from the soccer team: Caley Powers, forward; Andrew Mitchell, midfielder; Gavin Stewart, midfielder, Chase Muller, defender; and Kevin Silveira, goalkeeper.

All but Mitchell were second-team choices last year; Silveira was also honorable mention in 2012.

Ben Etzell topped Coupeville’s list. The senior baseball player was named the Cascade Conference’s Most Valuable Player, the first MVP award for the Wolves from any sport since joining the league.

Oak Harbor golfer Joanna Leete accomplished a rare feat, earning first-team honors all four years of high school. Senior teammate Bree Roderos was named to the first team for the second consecutive year and was a second-team selection in 2012. Sophomore Resego Mooki also took first-team honors this year; the only non-senior on the Wesco North list.

Coupeville junior golfer Christine Fields picked up her second-straight first-team honor after being named to the second team as a freshman.

Oak Harbor junior John Rodeheffer nabbed first-team honors in two track events, the 1,600 and 3,200 meters. The feat gains more glitter because track, unlike the other spring sports, combines all 10 3A Wesco schools to determine its all-league team. The other selections are based upon the five-team North and South divisions.

Rodeheffer was first team in the 3,200 and second in the 1,600 last spring.

Junior Dejon Devroe (400 meters) was also a first-team track choice this year. As a freshman, he received honorable mention honors; he did not live in Oak Harbor his sophomore school year.

Oak Harbor juniors Daniel Wolfe (catcher) and Brent Mertins (infielder) were first-team baseball picks. Wolfe was a second-teamer and Mertins honorable mention last season.

Senior softball player Natalie Fiallos of Oak Harbor was a first-team outfield choice this year after being the first-team second baseman in 2013.

Senior Coupeville infielder Madeline Roberts was first-team softball honoree after three years of making the honorable mention list.

Oak Harbor junior golfer Mac Kerfoot and junior singles tennis player Makenzie Perry also earned first-team awards.

Wildcat athletes earning second-team honors were senior Teddy Peterschmidt (baseball, pitcher), senior Brandon Bailey (baseball, outfield), sophomore Kevyn Johnson (baseball, infield), senior Alex Krantz (soccer, midfielder), senior Ben McCornack (soccer, defender), sophomore Tricia Sarns (softball, pitcher), sophomore Alexa Findley (softball, designated player) and senior Alexandra Laiblin (track, 3,200).

Coupeville second-teamers were sophomore Makana Stone (track, 400), senior Jake Tumblin (baseball, catcher), senior Kurtis Smith (baseball, outfield), junior Josh Bayne (baseball, infield), junior Aaron Trumbull (baseball, infield), senior Brett Arnold (soccer, defender), senior Sean Donley (soccer, midfielder), sophomore Abraham Leyva Elenes (soccer, forward), senior Bree Messner (softball, catcher) and junior Hailey Hammer (softball, infield).

Honorable mention choices for Oak Harbor were Nathaniel Stanford (baseball), Rhys Mattila (baseball), Jozef Mendoza (baseball), Casiano Atienza (baseball), Hunter Adams (boys golf), Kat Martinez (softball), Sydney White (softball), Alyssa Meany (softball), Laura Anderson (softball), Kelly Findley (softball) and Hailey Beecher (girls golf).

Coupeville honorable mention selections were C.J. Smith (baseball) and McKayla Bailey (softball).

The Cascade Conference does not name an all-league team in tennis.

Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us