Trending: Oak Harbor wins fourth straight state title | Bowling

How good is the Oak Harbor High School bowling team?  Let's take a look…

1. The varsity No. 1 team won its fourth consecutive state championship Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 15 and 16, in the 49th annual Washington State Bowling Proprietors' Association High School State Championship Tournament at Narrows Plaza Bowl in University Place.

2. The fourth straight win is the best ever by a high school team in the United States, according to coach Jason Youngsman.

3. Oak Harbor won the first division by 10 points with a pinfall of 8,901 over second-place Mountlake Terrace at 39/8,245. The 10 points was so decisive, only nine points separated the second through sixth-place teams in the nine-team field.

4. The Wildcat team is so deep, its Division II team, coached by Carlton Johnson Sr.,  also took first with 47 points and a pinfall of 8,368. Bellarmine of Tacoma finished second at 39/7,890. Again, the winning margin, in this case eight points, was so big that the next six teams all fell within eight points of each other.

5. Oak Harbor was the only school to qualify two teams for the tournament, which featured 25 teams over three divisions.

6. The Most Valuable Bowler in the top two divisions were from Oak Harbor: Brendan McCardle in Division I and Taylor Osorio in Division II.

7. Two members of the five-person, all-state first team in Division I were from Oak Harbor: McCardle (182 average) and Carlton Johnson Jr. (184). Daniel Rutter (176) was a second-team selection.

8. Three Wildcats earned first-team honors in Division II: Osorio (178), Logan Faught (172) and Connor Parameter (171).

9. The varsity No. 2 team's title was the second in three years; the Wildcats lost last year's finals by a mere half point.

Add it all up and Oak Harbor is forming its own Duckpin Dynasty; more accurately, a 10-pin powerhouse.

Joining McCardle, Johnson Jr. and Rutter on Oak Harbor No. 1 were Tyler Rollyson, Christian Osorio and Devin McCardle. Christian Osorio was the tournament MVP and a first-team, all-state choice last year.

Rounding out Oak Harbor No. 2 were Patrick Anderson, Powell Tarrant and Daniel Stochl.

Assistant coaches for Oak Harbor are Jacob Miller and John Youngsman, Jason's father.

The Wildcats also won the state title in 1991 when Jason Youngsman was a team member and John Youngsman handled the head-coaching duties.

The Wildcats practice and play their home matches at Oak Harbor's Oak Bowl, which provides free lane time for the champions.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates