11 Wildcats earn 1st-team honors

Eleven Oak Harbor High School athletes received first-team all-Western Conference 3A North honors when the teams were announced Monday, Feb. 25.

Six Wildcat swimmers earned first-team status, some in multiple events. Senior Josh Jepsen in the 100 breaststroke, senior Jarik Bainco in the 200 individual medley and freshman Joe Gorman in the 500 freestyle were tabbed in individual events.

Jepsen, Bainco and juniors Kevin Levy and Caley Powers were first team in the 200 and 400 free relays; and Jepsen, Powers, Levy and sophomore Toren Wood in the 200 medley relay.

In boys basketball, senior JoJo Webster was a first-team choice, while senior Dayne Herron and junior Drew Washington were second team. Senior Chris Hailer received honorable mention.

Junior Annie Leete was a second-team pick in girls basketball.

Wrestlers senior Cody Fakkema (132 pounds), senior Jacob Fitzgerald (138) and sophomore Jeremy Vester (120) took first-team honors.



We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates