Oak Harbor 1st team to win 3 consecutive state titles | Bowling

The Oak Harbor bowling teams show off their awards. - Photo by Rhea Sobreo
The Oak Harbor bowling teams show off their awards.
— image credit: Photo by Rhea Sobreo

The Oak Harbor High School bowling team won its third consecutive state title and made history along the way at the 48th Annual Washington State Bowling Proprietors’ Association State High School Varsity Bowling Championships at Acme Bowl in Tukwila Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 16 and 17.

Oak Harbor became the first team in state history to capture three straight titles.

The first-place trophy wasn’t the only honor for Oak Harbor. Head coach Jason Youngsman was inducted into the WSBPA Coaches Hall of Fame, Christian Osorio earned first-team, all-state honors with a 209 average and Brendan McCardle was named to the second team with a 195 average.

While Oak Harbor No. 1 was wrapping up the Division I title, Oak Harbor No. 2 finished second in Division II.

Oak Harbor No. 1 held a slim half-point lead, 22.5-22, over Shadle Park after Saturday’s action then blew away the eight-team field Sunday. The Wildcats finished with 51.5 points and 9,959 pins, easily outdistancing second-place Moses Lake (38.5, 9,679) and third-place Shadle Park (38, 9,559).

Curtis nipped Oak Harbor No. 2 44.5-44 for the Division II crown although Oak Harbor downed more pins, 8,231-8,196. The Wildcats, coached by Carlton Johnson Sr., were tied with Bellarmine Prep at 24 after Saturday’s action. Bellarmine finished third at 41 (8,121).

Logan Faught (184 average) was a first-team, all-state Division II selection and Alex Rutter (171) second team.

Other Oak Harbor No. 1 team members are Jerin Applegarth, Tyler Rollyson, Carlton Johnson Jr. and Bernard Deguzman.

Also on Oak Harbor No. 2 are Powell Tarrant, Ryan Gilman, Jay Angeles, Cody Vogelman and Taylor Osorio.

The state competition featured four divisions, 28 five-person teams and 50 individual bowlers.

The Washington event is the second longest consecutive state championship bowling tournament to New York in the United States.

Oak Harbor also won the state title in 1991 (when Youngsman played for the Wildcats and the team was coached by his father and current assistant coach John Youngsman) and once in the 1970s.











We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the May 28
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates