Oak Harbor seeking 3rd straight state title | Bowling

Looking to wrap up its third consecutive Washington State Bowling Proprietors’ Association State High School Championship, Oak Harbor held a slim lead after the first round Saturday, Feb. 16, at Acme Bowl in Tukwila.

Oak Harbor No. 1 led Shadle Park 22.5-22 in the eight-team Division I.

The 48th annual tournament closes Sunday, Feb. 17.

The Oak Harbor No. 1 team wasn’t the only local leader. Oak Harbor No. 2 is atop Division II, tied with Bellarmine Prep with 24 points.

Oak Harbor No. 1, coached by Jason Youngsman, won the Skagit League this season by 52 points and entered state with the best average, 947. Carlton Johnson Jr. leads the Oak Harbor bowlers with a 198 average.

Shadle Park was fourth in average, 892, coming into state.

Oak Harbor No. 2, coached by Carlton Johnson Sr., was third in league and came to the tournament with the second-best average, 830, among the Division II qualifiers. Mountlake Terrace averaged 836 and Bellarmine was fifth at 788.

Oak Harbor No. 1 is manned by Jerin Applegarth, Tyler Rollyson, Brendan McCardle, Johnson Jr., Christian Osorio and Bernard Deguzman.

Powell Tarrant, Ryan Gilman, Jay Angeles, Alex Rutter, Cody Vogelman, Taylor Osorio and Logan Faught compete for Oak Harbor No. 2.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates