Winter prep athletes receive letters, awards, league honors

The 2011-12 winter prep season for Coupeville and Oak Harbor concluded with the presentation of letters and special awards to the athletes.


CHS Boys Basketball

Lettermen: senior Mitch Pelroy; junior Drew Chan; sophomores Gavin O’Keefe and Nick Streubel; and freshmen Aaron Curtin, Taylor Ebersole and Carson Risner.

Special awards: Pelroy, Most Hustle; Risner, Most Improved; Streubel, Most Improved.

League honors: Pelroy, honorable mention; O’Keefe, honorable mention; Streubel, honorable mention.


OHHS Boys Basketball

Lettermen: seniors Mich-ael Washington Jr., Kevawn Brooks, Matt Burgoyne, Elias Whitefoot and Paul Johannsen; juniors Dayne Herron, Chris Hailer and Jamacio Webster; and sophomores Zach Gibbs and Drew Washington.

Special awards: Wash-ington Jr., Offensive Player of the Year; Brooks, Defensive Player of the Year; Whitefoot, Hustle Player of the Year; Johannsen, Captain; Burgoyne, Comeback Player of the Year.

League honors: Wash-ington Jr., first-team; Brooks, honorable mention.

Notes: Qualified for consecutive district tournaments for first time since 1991-92, 1992-93; Washington Jr. set school career scoring record, 1,526 points.


CHS Girls Basketball

Letter winners: seniors Katie Smith, Shelby Kulz, Cassidi Rosenkrance, Grace LaPoint and Taya Boonstra; juniors Lauren Escalle, Haley Marx, Jai’Lysa Hoskins and Bessie Walstad; sophomores Amanda Fabizi and Bre Messner; and freshman Hailey Hammer.

Special awards: Smith, Captain; Rosenkrance, Cap-tain.

League honors: Smith, honorable mention; Rosenkrance, honorable mention.


OHHS Girls Basketball

Letter winners: seniors Lia Pantoleon, Erika Carys Flor-es, Kaileen Burleson, Rayan Russell, Dominique Jackson and Tatiana Cumming; juniors Jalani Bobo, Marissa Lewis, Morgan Young, Kelsey Rankin and Ciera Wiser; and sophomores Natalie Fiallos and Annie Leete.

Special awards: Jackson, Captain, Best Teammate; Wiser, Captain, MVP; Fiallos, Most Improved; Russell, Best Teammate; Lewis, Best Defender; Young, Most Inspirational.

League honors: Leete, honorable mention.


OHHS Cheer

Letter winners: seniors Colby Lock, Rebecca White and Shannon Wolfe; non-seniors with multiple letters: Elizabeth Adkins, Chylah Bass, Jade Brown, Micaiah Davis, Mariah Dozhier, Jember Jansen, Molly Murdock, Makaila Owens, Jillian White, Angelique Williams, Ellie Williamson, Hailey Williamson and RaeAnna Wynne; first-time letter winners: Juliet Aspery, Alisha Coe, Faith Franssen, Jennifer Landingin, Aubrey Lock, Tyler O’Dell and Samantha Usi.

Notes: Second in state in small group division.


OHHS Swim and Dive

Letter winners: Jacob Jepsen, Josh Jepsen, Tucker Lundstrom, Adriel Eckart, Kevin Levy, Carlos Neto, Jeron Kosbar, Derek Volk, Dylan Cribb, Toren Wood, Dakota Powers, Francesco Bernadelli, John Kaltenbach, David Kusnick Jr., Clayton Livermore, Keaton Dieter, Mason Dieter, Cameron Hartley, Cameron Radka, Eli Mitchell, Joshua Blyther, Stacy Jappert, Jaxon Wolfe, Caley Powers, Therese Desquitado (manager) and Rachelle Muzones (manager).

Special awards: Jacob Jepsen, MVP; Kaltenbach, Excellence in Diving; Wolfe, Coach’s Award; Keaton Dieter, Captains’ Award;  Neto, Most Inspirational.

League honors: Jacob Jepsen, first team 200 free, 100 backstroke; Josh Jepsen, first team 200 IM, 100 breaststroke; Caley Powers, first team 100 butterfly; Jacob Jepsen, Josh Jepsen, Caley Powers, Levy, first team 200 free relay, 200 medley relay.

Notes: Wesco North champions; Jacob Jepsen, school record, 200 free, 1:46.06.


OHHS Wrestling

Letter winners: seniors Hunter Vail, Ben Pralle, Ryuta Meany, Josh Orritt, Collin Higingbotham, David Payne, Jennifer Fremd, Brittany Johnston, Bri Patton, Leanne Empinado, (manager) and Lizzy Chase (manager); juniors Jeremy Alonzo, Kylene Ayer, Noel Cheeseboro, Joshua Crebbin, Desiree Dillaman, Cody Fakkema, Terry Joll,  Courtney Shavers and Kassy Rouselle (manager); sophomores Chris Carter, Tricia Desquitado, Jacob Dugin, Kenny King, Ray Quinday, Sheyenne Sams, Nathanael Stanford, Kekai Tarrant, Jahleel Vester and Austin Wotring; and freshmen Tyler Adamson, Jackson Constant, Mark Johnston, Carl Meders and Jeremy Vester.

Special awards: Payne, Captain; Pralle, Captain; Fremd, Captain; Crebbin, Captain; Joll, Cor Aut Mors; Meders, Most Improved.

State participants: Fremd (third place), Fakkema (third), Crebbin, Jeremy Vester, Jahleel Vester, Mark Johnston, Brittany Johnston.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates