Pelroy leads all-league honors for Coupeville

Coupeville senior Mitch Pelroy was the league's most decorated football player when the Cascade Conference announced its all-league awards this week.

Football players senior Dalton Engle, junior Anthony Maggio, senior Brandt Bodamer, junior Caleb Valko and sophomore Nick Streubel;  and volleyball players senior Katie Smith, senior Taya Boonstra and junior Bessie Walstad also earned conference honors.

Pelroy was named Special Teams Player of the Year and was a first-team selection as a receiver and defensive back. He was the only conference player to receive three honors.

In 2010 he was named the league's top return man.

Engle was the first-team punter and a second-team linebacker. Last year he was a first-team linebacker selection.

Maggio was a second-team defensive lineman pick. Linebacker Bodamer and offensive linemen Valko and Streubel were honorable mention. Bodamer received honorable mention honors last season as a receiver.

Smith, an outside hitter, was a volleyball second-team choice. Boonstra and Walstad earned honorable mention.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates