Basketball: Oak Harbor, Coupeville players receive all-league honors

The Western Conference and Cascade Conference announced their all-league teams this week, and Oak Harbor’s Mike Washington Jr. led the local players by earning first-team honors.

Coupeville seniors Hunter Hammer and Ben Hayes were named to the Cascade Conference second team.

Washington, who led the Wesco 3A in scoring with an 18.2 average, tied for the most votes in the Wesco polling with Shorecrest’s Junior Chibuogwa, the league’s No. 2 scorer (17.7 points per game).

Washington scored 20 or more points in 10 of 23 games this season, including a 40-point outburst against Meadowdale. That effort was the second highest single-game total in school history.

Washington, a junior, was named to the Wesco North 4A second team his freshman and sophomore seasons.

Wildcat teammates Jay Stout, Stevie Bratt and Denzel Massey landed on the honorable mention list; Stout for the third time.

Hammer (12.8) and Hayes (12.7) finished 10th and 11th in Cascade Conference scoring this winter. Hammer was a first-team choice last year.

Coupeville seniors Ian Smith and Tyler King were honorable mention choices.

On the girls’ side, Oak Harbor senior Janelle Yoshimoto earned honorable mention.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates