High-school winter athletes receive letters, special awards

Winter athletes for Oak Harbor and Coupeville high schools recently received varsity letters and special awards for the 2010-11 season.

OHHS Boys Basketball

Letter and special award winners won’t be announced until the team’s banquet March 14.

League honors: First-team all-Wesco 3A, Mike Washington Jr.; honorable mention, Jay Stout, Stevie Bratt and Denzel Massey.

Oak Harbor, coached by Mike Washington Sr., finished the year 7-16, reached the playoffs for the first time since 1998 and won its first post-season game since 1996.

CHS Boys Basketball

Senior lettermen: Hunter Hammer, Ben Hayes, Nic Anthony, Scott Davidson, Nevin Miranda, Tyler King and Ian Smith.

Junior lettermen: Mitch Pelroy and Dalton Engle.

Special Awards: Co-cap-tains, Smith and Hammer.

Coupeville, coached by Randy King, finished 2010-11 with a 10-13 record and qualified for tri-district for the first time since 2002.

Cascade Conference honors will be awarded tonight.

OHHS Girls Basketball

Senior letter winners: Clarissa Abadesco, Janelle Yoshimoto and Adrianna Royal.

Other letter winners: juniors Dominique Jackson and Tatiana Cumming; sophomores Ciera Wiser, Emilie Renninger and Jalanie Bobo; and freshman Annie Leete.

Special awards: Co-captains Abadesco and Yoshimoto; Most Outstanding, Aba-desco; Most Inspirational, Yoshimoto; Best Defender, Wiser; Best Teammate, Wiser; Most Improved, Leete; and next year’s co-captains, Wiser and Jackson.

League honors: Honorable mention, Yoshimoto.

The Wildcats, coached by Trisha Clayville, went 2-18 this season.

CHS Girls Basketball

Senior letter winners: Kendra O’Keefe, Courtney Arnold and Mehgan Metlow.

Other letter winners: juniors Katie Smith, Cassidi Rosenkrance, Taya Boonstra and Amanda Manker; and sophomores Lauren Escalle, Jai’Lysa Hoskins and Bessie Walstad.
The Wolves, coached by Jackie Bykonen, were 3-18 this year. League honors will be announced tonight.

OHHS Wrestling

Senior lettermen: Corey Trimbur, Steven Souza, Bailey Martinez, Kyle Mellow and Bryan Dillaman; and managers Holly Hernandez,  Stephanie Bigelow and McKenzie McCormick.

Other lettermen: Brandon Stratton, Joshua Crebbin, David Payne, Jeremy Alonzo, Walter Castillo, Brody DeDobbeLaere, Justin Everett, Collin Higingbotham, Devin Jensen, Ryuta Meany, Ben Pralle, Raymond Quinday, Sheyenne Sams, Nathaniel Stanford, Athan Taisague, Hunter Vail, Jennifer Fremd, Jahleel Vester and Cody Fakkema.

Special award winners: Co-captains, Trimbur and Souza; Cor Aut Mors (integrity, leadership, loyalty, competition), Stratton and Crebbin; and Most Improved, Payne.

Coach Mike Crebbin was named the District and Regional Coach of the Year.

State participants: Fremd (fifth), Stratton (seventh), Trimbur (eighth), Vester (eighth), Fakkema and Bailey.

Oak Harbor finished the year 12-5, second in Wesco 3A and third at the sub-regional.

Lettermen: Price Hu, Brandon Vagt, Jacob Jepsen, Yale Rosen, Devin Schell, Josh Jepsen, Ben Cardinal, Caley Powers, Kevin Levy, Jeron Kosbar, Ryan Cuajunco, Cedric Cabigting, Jaxon Wolfe, Brett Vagt, David Kusnick, John Kaltenbach, Keaton Dieter, Jarik Bainco, Tucker Lundstrom, Tyler Long, Judd Ford, Adrian Alvarado, Matt Reith, Blake Leech, Josh Evans, Cole Weinstein (Coupeville) and  Konrad Borden (Coupeville).

State participants: Hu, Brandon Vagt, Jacob Jepsen, Rosen, Schell, Josh Jepsen, Cardinal, Powers and Weinstein.

The Wildcats, coached by Amy Nurvic and Janet Tipping (diving), placed second in the Wesco North, second in the Northwest District  meet and 10th at the state meet.

OHHS Cheer

Senior letter winners: Shene Blanton, Cassie Gianino and Omani Welch.

Others multi-year letter winners: Elizabeth Adkins, Christina Alexander, Chylah Bass, Jade Brown, Rachel Cook, Brittany Danielle, Micaiah Davis, Mariah Dozhier, Jember Jansen, Sadie Strain, Briana Thrift, Jillian White, Rebecca White and RaeAnna Wynne.

First-year varsity letter winners: Racheal Balasa, Jodie Fleming, Molly Murdock, Amey Nichols, Makaila Owens and Brianna Quinn.

The Wildcats, coached by Robin Gohn, earned a first, second, third and fourth in state-wide competitions this year and placed fourth in the small, all-girl division at the state tournament.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates