Sports

Winter preview: Oak Harbor High School wrestling

For the first time, the Oak Harbor High School wrestling program will also feature a girls team.

With seven girls turning out, as compared to just one last year, the Wildcats now qualify as a sanctioned team and can score points at the district, regional and state meets. The one returning female, Jennifer Fremd, qualified for state in 2009.

Wildcat coach Mike Crebbin also welcomes back eight male lettermen: seniors Corey Trimbur and Steven Souza; juniors Ben Pralle, Brandon Stratton, Justin Everett and Hunter Vail; and sophomores Josh Crebbin and Jeremy Foster.

Stratton and Trimbur advanced to the regional tournament last winter.

Coach Crebbin said, “On the boys side, we have a great freshmen turnout. It just depends on how well they develop and fill in at the lower weights.”

He sees the team’s depth as its strength: “We have good numbers this year, so we should be able to fill every weight class.” He noted the team’s weakness is the lack of “returners with post season experience.”

Crebbin also noted the team’s inexperience: “For over half our team, it’s their first year of high school wrestling, but they are really focused on learning and putting in the hard work. I like that they accept the challenges we put in front of them and test themselves.”

He said the season will be a success if the his staff can get the “kids to embrace the sport of wrestling and see that the development of perseverance, dedication and mental toughness can transfer over to all areas of their lives.”

Crebbin said the team’s goal is to finish in the top three in its first year of Wesco 3A competition. Oak Harbor was 2-10 last year.

The Wildcats go to Monroe Friday, Dec. 3, with Glacier Peak to start the season with a double-dual match with the Bearcats and Arlington at 5:30 p.m.

Oak Harbor does not have a home match until Tuesday, Jan. 4, with Shorewood and Shorecrest at 5:40 p.m.

Oak Harbor High School Wrestling 2010-11

Date Opponent Site Time

Fri., Dec. 3 Monroe/Arlington Monroe 7 p.m.

Thurs., Dec. 9 Marysville/Lakewood Marysville 7 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 11 Spud Walley Invite Sedro-Woolley 10 a.m.

Thurs., Dec. 16 Glacier Peak Glacier Peak 7 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 18 Graham Morin Tournament Squalicum 10 a.m.

Wed., Dec. 22 Seahawks Duals Anacortes 10 a.m.

Wed., Jan. 4 Shorecrest/Shorewood Oak Harbor 5:40 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 8 Everett Classic Everett 9:30 a.m.

Thurs., Jan. 13 Everett Oak Harbor 7 p.m.

Fri., Jan. 14 Highline Highline TBD

Sat., Jan. 15 Tourn. of Excellence Mercer Island 9 a.m.

Wed., Jan. 19 Mountlake Terrace Oak Harbor 7 p.m.

Fri, Jan. 21 Meadowdale Meadowdale 7 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 22 Lynden Tournament Lynden 9 a.m.

Thurs., Jan. 27 Lynnwood Oak Harbor 7 p.m.

Fri., Feb. 4 Sub-regional Sedro-Woolley 4 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 5 Sub-regional Sedro-Woolley 10 a.m.

Sat., Feb. 12 Regional Glacier Peak TBD

Feb. 18, 19 State Tacoma Dome TBD

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Nov 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates