Sports

Winter preview: Oak Harbor High School boys basketball

A trio of experienced guards form the core of the 2010-11 Oak Harbor boys basketball team.

The group is led by three-year starter Jay Stout. The 5-10 senior has twice been named Wesco 4A North honorable mention.

Also back is the team’s top scorer, 6-3 junior Mike Washington Jr., who was named to the all-Wesco second team as a freshman and sophomore.

Senior 5-9 guard and defensive standout Denzel Massey rounds out the talented back court.

Also back are 6-4 senior swing man Steven Bratt and twin 6-5 senior posts Trace and Conner Paul.

Senior David Tillotson and juniors Kevawn Brooks, Matt Burgoyne, Josiah Miller and Cameron Faulkner should also see varsity action, according to head coach Mike Washington Sr.

As expected, coach Washington sees his guard play as the team’s strength. He said, “Our weaknesses are rebounding and catching the ball in traffic.”

Washington said he likes that his team is “sharing the basketball,” “talking it up on the defensive end,” showing “tenacity most of the time” and building “team chemistry.”

The season will be a success, Washington said, if the players “accept and excel” in their roles and are “in the game even when we are not actually in the game.” He added, “I also feel the more students that come to the games, the better the team will play.”

Washington said he expects his club “to be very competitive” and that the goal is to “compete for a playoff spot.”

“In order to do that,” he said, “we have to play every game like it’s a playoff game.”

Oak Harbor goes to Cascade Tuesday, Nov. 30, to open the season. Thursday, Dec. 2, Marysville comes to Oak Harbor for a 7 p.m. game.

The Wildcats were 5-15 last year.

Oak Harbor High School Boys Basketball 2010-11

Date Opponent Site Time

Tues., Nov. 30 Cascade Cascade 7:30

Thurs.,Dec. 2 Marysville-Pil. Oak Harbor 7:30

Fri., Dec. 3 Lake Stevens Lake Stevens 7:30

Fri., Dec. 10 Lynnwood Lynnwood 7:30

Tues., Dec. 14 Shorewood Oak Harbor 7:30

Fri., Dec. 17 Everett Everett 7:30

Tues., Dec. 21 Mountlake Ter. Oak Harbor 7:30

Tues., Dec. 28 Tournament Bellevue CC 6:30

Wed., Dec. 29 Tournament Bellevue CC TBD

Thurs., Dec. 30 Tournament Bellevue CC TBD

Tues., Jan. 4 Meadowdale Meadowdale 7:30

Fri., Jan. 7 Shorecrest Shorecrest 7:30

Tues., Jan. 11 Glacier Peak Oak Harbor 7:30

Fri., Jan. 14 Lynnwood Oak Harbor 7:30

Tues., Jan. 18 Shorewood Shorewood 7:30

Thurs., Jan. 20 Everett Oak Harbor 7:30

Tues., Jan. 25 Mountlake Ter. Mtlake 7:30

Fri., Jan. 28 Meadowdale Oak Harbor 7:30

Tues., Feb. 1 Shorecrest Oak Harbor 7:30

Thurs., Feb. 3 Glacier Peak Glacier Peak 7:30

Feb. 10, 12, 16,

19, 22 District Tournament TBD

Feb. 25, 26 Regional Tournament TBD

March 3-5 State Tourn. Tacoma Dome TBD

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Nov 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates