Spring athletes receive awards

Editor's note: The letter and special award winners of some of the local high school 2010 spring athletic teams were never published because of the lack of space in the newspaper. Before the new school year begins and the past prep season is forgotten, we would like to recognize those accomplishments online. (Some coaches never submitted awards lists.)

Oak Harbor Fastpitch

Senior outfielder Aria Araceley was the leading award winner for this spring’s Oak Harbor High School fastpitch team.

Besides earning a varsity letter, Araceley was chosen by coach Jessica Weikle as the team’s Most Valuable Player, was named one of the team’s co-captains and earned a spot on the all-Wesco second team.

Senior Emily Meagher picked up the Wildcat Award, was co-captain with Araceley, received Wesco North honorable mention and earned a varsity letter.

Senior letter winner Whitney Osborn was the team’s Most Inspirational Player and was all-Wesco honorable mention.

Araceley, Meagher and Osborn have earned multiple varsity letters in their career, as has another letter winner this year, junior Abby Rankin.

First-time varsity letter winners included juniors Hannah Dolph and Shelby Kirk; sophomores Marissa Fakkema, Brittany Johnston and Emily Hunt; and freshmen Shawna Steele and Adrea Thomas.

The Wildcats were 0-16 in Wesco play this spring and 1-18 overall.

Coupeville Fastpitch

The future looks bright for the Coupeville High School fastpitch team because 10 of the 14 varsity letter winners will return next season.

The Wolves will lose seniors Julie Huddleston, Kaylie Kellison, Emma Puharic and Megan Smith.

Other varsity letter winners were junior Rebecca Armstrong; sophomores Taya Boonstra, Grace LaPoint, Taylor Lawson, Roxy Piechowski, Katie Smith, Autumn Stevenson and Alexis Trumbull; and freshmen Maria Rockwell and Bessie Walstad.

Katie Smith received the Most Valuable Player Award from coach Denny Zylstra.

Huddleston, Megan Smith and Armstrong were the 2010 team captains.

Huddleston and Lawson shared the Most Inspirational Award, and Boonstra was honored as Most Improved.

Armstrong was selected for the all-Cascade Conference second team and Walstad was honorable mention.

The Wolves finished 1-17 and 3-20.

Oak Harbor Boys Soccer

Fifteen Oak Harbor High School boys soccer players picked up varsity letters this spring.

Senior Ryan Fakkema was the most decorated of the Wildcats, earning a letter, receiving the Coaches’ Award from first-year head coach Brian Thompson and assistant Jeff Laiblin and being chosen to the all-Wesco North second team.

Senior Marcos Anjos lettered, was tabbed the Most Inspirational and was named to the Wesco North honorable mention list.

Freshman Isaiah Trower earned a letter and won the Most Improved Award.

As well as lettering, junior Michael Shevchuk joined Fakkema on the all-league second team, and senior Greg Wolfe lettered and earned honorable mention.

Other letter winners where seniors Tyler Lauzen, Jake Sahdefur, Brandon Oppenheim and Clay Mosolino; juniors Michael Radka and Blake Schulle; sophomores Vince Freitas and Tucker Lundstrom; and freshmen Matt Jensen and Caleb Gatica.

Oak Harbor finished the year 2-14.

Oak Harbor Boys Golf

Six members of the Oak Harbor High School golf team received varsity letters this spring.

Seniors Matt Fiske and Dan Klope, in addition to lettering, received the Coach's Award from head coach John Matzen.

Junior Judd Ford earned the Medalist Award for the best average score and was first-team all-Wesco. He also placed 19th in the state 4A meet, his third trip to the tournament.

Junior letterman Greg Martin was given the Most Improved Award.

Freshmen Austin Field and Jim Nguyen also earned varsity letters.

Ford tied for the Wesco North tournament and regular season medalist honors and was first-team all-Wesco.

Oak Harbor Girls Golf

Five of the six Oak Harbor High School varsity girls golf letter winners also earned all-conference honors.

Senior Melany Cone was first-team all-Wesco North; senior Simone Hamilton, senior Ashley Johnson and junior Sasha Olson were second-team selections; and junior Millie Goebel was honorable mention.

Junior Mara Cortez also earned a varsity letter and received the Coach's Award from head coach Andy Wesley.

Cone received the Medalist Award, and junior Marina Bankowski picked up the Rookie Award.

The Wildcats finished second in the district, just one stroke behind Kamiak; and Cone, Johnson and Hamilton all qualified for the state meet.

Oak Harbor Girls Tennis

Laurin Rico and Erin Neilon were chosen as captains for the 2010 Oak Harbor High School girls tennis team.

The pair also received Four-year Varsity plaques from head coach Horace Mells and earned all-Wesco honors along with Cady O'Dell and Clarissa Abadesco, Rico's doubles partner.

Rico and Abadesco qualified for the state tournament, and singles players Neilon and O'Dell placed in the district tournament.

Other varsity letter winners were Molly Van Dam, Joyce Abides, Nicole McKenzie, Darcy Fremd, Cassandra Gianino, Jennifer Fremd, Alexa Holmly, Jennifer Bowers, Kerry Rathsabanhdith, Jordan Faralan and Shannon Neilon.

The Wildcats finished the season 6-10 and in fifth place in the Wesco North.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates