Whidbey News-Times


Incumbents are great leaders

October 31, 2012 · Updated 3:11 PM

We are writing to strongly endorse both of our incumbent county commissioners, Helen Price Johnson (District 1) and Angie Homola (District 2) for re-election. Please remember to vote in both of the county commissioner races, unlike the primary, when we voted only for the commissioner representing our home district.

As anthropologists, MK studied the unique problems and opportunities of prehistoric communities in island and coastal ecosystems; Eileen focused on health and care in contemporary rural communities. The holistic methods of anthropology demonstrate that the challenges faced by communities are best met by leaders who understand the interrelatedness of these challenges, particularly in times of economic hardship and scarce resources.

Commissioners Helen Price Johnson and Angie Homola are two such leaders. They recognize the unique nature and diversity of Island County. Their wide ranging experiences have prepared them to navigate the turbulent waters of local government and respond to the mandates, circumstances and opportunities of our state and nation. They recognize that island health and safety are highly interconnected and that “hiring another deputy” is only one component. Meaningful youth activities, parks, education, as well as primary and mental health care for mothers and children, veterans, elders and the other at-risk groups, all contribute to the safety of our island communities.

There is a saying among some indigenous peoples —  “what we do today will affect the next seven generations.” Helen and Angie have echoed such forward-thinking wisdom and recognize the fragile and complex nature of our islands’ ecosystems. In these difficult, rapidly changing times, we need proven, thoughtful leaders who can see the big picture, listen to their constituents and guide us to innovative solutions. In all these ways, Helen Price Johnson and Angie Homola are exemplary leaders. Please join us in voting to re-elect them as our county commissioners for Districts 1 and 2.

Mary K. “MK” Sandford
Eileen M. Jackson



Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us