Whidbey News-Times


Advisory committee seeks Central Whidbey member

October 31, 2013 · 9:09 AM

With the appointment of two new members, Island County commissioners are still seeking one final Central Whidbey applicant to serve on the Lodging Tax Advisory Committee.

The committee represents businesses that are subject to the tax and those that receive the tax funds.

The county commissioners appoints members to the committee to three-year terms which may be renewed.

The committee consists of seven members: three members representing the businesses required to collect the tax; three members involved in authorized activities receiving revenues; and a member of the Board of County Commissioners who will serve as chair.

Current board members are Tom Felvey, representing those taxed on South Whidbey, and Don Debode, representing those taxed on North Whidbey. The vacant position would represent those taxed on Central Whidbey.

The three representing those eligible to receive hotel-motel tax funds are Andrew Egloff for Camano Island, and Cynthia Mason and Sherryl Christie-Bierschenk who represent Whidbey Island at-large.

The committee meets once annually, usually in the fall, for the purpose of reviewing requests and making recommendations to the Island County Board of Commissioners on distribution of monies generated by the Lodging Excise Tax.

Interested individuals should provide a letter of interest and resume by mail, email or FAX to: Island County Board of Commissioners, Attn: Pam Dill, Re: Lodging Tax Advisory Committee Vacancy, Post Office Box 5000, Coupeville, WA 98239.

The fax number is 360-679-7381 and email applications should be sent to pamd@ co.island.wa.us. Application materials should be received no later than 4:30 p.m. on Nov. 18, 2013. For additional information please phone 360-679-7353 or email Pam Dill at the above address.


Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us