Candidates line up for campaigns

"The filing period for those seeking public office in Washington ended Friday and political signs are already appearing in fields and front yards. Only a few weeks of campaigning remain before party primaries Sept. 19. The general election is Nov. 7. Whidbey voters will be faced with only two local primary races in September. In the Greater Oak Harbor area voters will decide whether Mac McDowell or Marvin Koorn will be the Republican candidate, taking on Democrat Lynne Wilcox in the Position 2 county commissioner race. Islanders will also help choose the Republican challenger for a District 10 seat in the state House. Either Barry Sehlin of Oak Harbor or Hugh Fleet of Marysville will face incumbent Democrat Dave Anderson in November.Here is a quick look at the candidates running for local office.STATE SENATEDistrict 10Norma Smith, Republican, ClintonBradley Carey, Libertarian, Mount VernonMary Margaret Haugen, Democrat, Camano IslandSTATE LEGISLATUREDistrict 10, Position 1Hugh Fleet, Republican, MarysvilleBarry Sehlin, Republican, Oak HarborDave Anderson, Democrat, ClintonDean Brittain, Libertarian, Mount VernonPosition 2John McCoy, Democrat, TulalipKelly Barlean, Republican LangleyISLAND COUNTY COMMISSIONERDistrict 1 - South and Central WhidbeyMike Shelton, Republican, LangleyWilliam Rowlands, Democrat, ClintonDistrict 2 - Greater Oak HarborMac McDowell, Republican, Oak HarborMarvin Koorn, Republican, Oak HarborLynne Wilcox, Democrat, Oak HarborIn addition to local races, many state, federal and judicial offices will be on the ballot. Here is a look at how those races are shaping up. They are listed in the order in which they filed for office.U.S. SENATORMaria Cantwell, Democrat, EdmondsBarbara Lampert, Democrat, SpokaneSlade Gorton, Republican, Clyde HillJeff Jared, Libertarian, KirklandJune Riggs, Republican, Mountlake TerraceWarren E. Hanson, Republican, BellinghamKen McCandless, Republican, EverettDeborah Senn, Democrat, SeattleRobert Tilden Medley, Democrat, TracytonU.S. REPRESENTATIVE - District 2Rick Larsen, Democrat, EverettGlen S. Johnson, New Law, Mt VernonStuart Andrews, Libertarian, BellinghamJohn Koster, Republican, ArlingtonGOVERNORGary Locke, Democrat, OlympiaHarold Hochstatter, Republican, Moses LakeMeta Heller, Democrat, OlympiaJohn Carlson, Republican, BellevueSteve W. Lepage, Libertarian, West RichlandLT. GOVERNORLonnie W. Williams Sr., Democrat, Mountlake TerraceBrad Owen, Democrat, SheltonJoe K. Mitschelen, Republican, MalottWiliam Mike Elliott, Republican, RainierRuth E. Bennett, Libertarian, Seattle SECRETARY OF STATEChris Loftis, Reform, EatonvilleSam Reed, Republican, OlympiaAllen Norman, Democrat, SeattleBob Terwilliger, Democrat, BrierMike Wensman, Republican, Mercer IslandDon L. Bonker, Democrat, Bainbridge IslandJ. Bradley Gibson, Libertarian, SeattleWill Baker, Republican, TacomaCharles Rolland, Democrat, SeattleJames Findley, Republican, WilkesonRand Daley, Democrat, Olympia STATE TREASURERMike Murphy, Democrat, OlympiaLouis Bloom, Democrat, Camano IslandDiane Rhoades, Republican, OrtingTim Perman, Libertarian, Redmond STATE AUDITORBrian Sonntag, Democrat, LakewoodChris Caputo, Libertarian, SeattleATTORNEY GENERALChristine Gregoire, Democrat, OlympiaStan Lippmann, Natural Medicine, SeattleLuanne Coachman, National Law, KentRichard Shepard, Libertarian, TacomaRichard Pope, Republican, Shoreline COMMISSIONER OF PUBLIC LANDSGeorgia Gardner, Democrat, BlaineBob Penhale, Democrat, SeattleMike The Mover, Democrat, EdmondsDoug Sutherland, Republican, University PlaceMike Lowry, Democrat, RentonPatrick A. Parrish, Republican, Trout LakeJim O'Donnell, Democrat, LaceyTim Reid, Democrat, TacomaSteve Layman, Libertarian, Clinton SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTIONArthur Hu, KirklandTeresa Terry Bergeson, OlympiaDavid Blomstrom, SeattleNeil T.B. Helgeland, AuburnDonald B. Crawford, Ferndale INSURANCE COMMISSIONERMike Kreidler, Democrat, LaceyDon Davidson, Republican, BellevueCurtis Fackler, Republican, SpokaneMike Hihn, Libertarian, TukwilaJohn Conniff, Democrat, TacomaCOURT OF APPEALS, DIVISION 1, DISTRICT 3 - Island, San Juan, Skagit, Whatcom countiesJudge, Position 1Mary Kay Becker, BellinghamSUPERIOR COURT - Island and San Juan countiesJudge, Position 1Alan R. Hancock, CoupevilleJudge, Position 2Vickie I. Churchill, Oak HarborSTATE SUPREME COURT Justice, Position 2Barrie Althoff, Mercer IslandJeff Sullivan, YakimaTerry Carroll, SeattleGeoff Crooks, OlympiaDoug Schafer, University PlaceDavid Larson, Federal WaySusan J. Owens, ForksJustice, Position 7Bobbe J. Bridge, SeattleScott S. Schwieger, FircrestJustice, Position 8Gerry L. Alexander, OlympiaJustice - Position 9Tom Chambers, IssaquahKen Grosse, SeattleJim Foley, Olympia"

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates