Whidbey News-Times


Island County election results change little in third count

Whidbey News-Times Co-editor
November 9, 2012 · 2:48 PM

Little changed in Island County races in the third count of votes from the Nov. 6 election.

The Island County Auditor’s Office released the third count Thursday night and won’t be counting again until Nov. 15. A total of 41,857 ballots have been counted, which is 84 percent of registered voters.

The auditor estimates that just 150 ballots are left to count, which leaves little chance that results will change in county races. The number of votes increased, but percentages remained the same in the two races for Island County commissioner.

Republican candidate Jill Johnson is still ahead of Democratic incumbent, Angie Homola, by 2 percent for the District 2 commissioner race. Johnson has 19,973 votes, or 51 percent, while Homola has 19,151, or 49 percent.

Johnson, an Oak Harbor resident, said Friday that she was pleased with her strong showing on North Whidbey and Camano Island.

“I think the results show that the people who knew me best, the people of Oak Harbor and North Whidbey, clearly are behind my leadership style,” she said.

She said the results on Camano showed that resident heard her message promoting a strong economy and a more collaborative board of commissioners, as well as ensuring that public safety is a top priority.

She admitted that she has work to do on meeting people and getting out her message on South Whidbey, where voters supported Homola.

Incumbent Commissioner Helen Price-Johnson, a District 1 Democrat, still leads Republican challenger Jeff Lauderdale by more than 4 percent. Price Johnson has 20,399 votes, or 52 percent, while Lauderdale received 18,646 ballots cast in his favor, or just under 48 percent.

Vote counts from the three counties in Legislative District 10 show that Oak Harbor resident Barbara Bailey, a Republican, is well ahead of incumbent state Sen. Mary Margaret Haugen. Bailey currently has 33,030 votes, or nearly 53 percent, while Haugen has 26,536 votes, or just over 47 percent.

Republican Rep. Norma Smith remains far ahead of Democratic challenger Aaron Simpson. Smith has 37,229 votes, or 61 percent, while Simpson has 23,788, or 39 percent.

Republican Dave Hayes is ahead of Democrat Tom Riggs in the race for the other state representative seat in District 10. Hayes has 31,526 votes, or 52 percent, while Riggs has 28,869, or 48 percent.


Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us