People and places

EMT Robert May and Melissa Jacobs show the defibrillator donated to the Hope Therapeutic Riding Center - Courtesy photo
EMT Robert May and Melissa Jacobs show the defibrillator donated to the Hope Therapeutic Riding Center
— image credit: Courtesy photo

Robert May, EMT, presented a portable defibrillator to Melissa Jacobe, head instructor at HOPE Therapeutic Riding Center. Due to a HRSA grant received from the federal government, Whidbey General Hospital will be donating 52 Phillips Heart Start portable defibrillators to organizations throughout Whidbey Island.

Miku Fiala received a $1,000 Frank and Irene Potter Memorial Scholarship from Washington State University. Fiala graduated from Oak Harbor High School in 2007. She is expected to graduate from Washington State University in 2011 with a degree in Asian studies and sociology.

Other achievements include being a member of International Students Council, Japan Club and Phi Eta Sigma.

Jason Jeriah Becker, a resident of Oak Harbor, has earned a Bachelor of Science from Excelsior College. Excelsior College in Albany, N.Y., is an an accredited, private, nonprofit institution that focuses on the needs of working adults.

Columbia College's summer 2010 Dean’s List includes, from Oak Harbor, Michael Belna, Shannon Butikofer, Kevin Feiock, Elissa Haddad, Tyhesia Hardin, Angela Howard, Sarah Keller, Jeri Kreier, Jeffrey Lawrence, Beulah Palmer, Michelle Subbert, Jason Summerbell and Marizza Torrella. Columbia College educates more than 29,000 students each year and has more than 64,000 alumni worldwide. Visit visit

Megan Thierstein of Oak Harbor earned a spot on the fall 2010 Dean’s List of Oak Hills Christian College in Bemidji, Minn.

Students from Whidbey Island have been named to the Dean’s List at the University of Washington for Autumn Quarter. From Coupeville, Andrew Neil Dwersteg, Alexis J Mietus, Spencer Jordan Tack and John Kyle Wilcox; from Greenbank, Ian Michael Baublitz and Kevin Allan McDonald; from Oak Harbor,

Enrico Campos Abadesco, Brian James Culbertson, Samantha Jean Culver, Angelena Marie Dunn, Shaina Marie Estadilla, Greg Mark Goebel, Simone Olivia Hamilton, Kira Louise Homola, Tanya Zapanta Husler, Garrett Max Knoll, Allison Marie McElhiney, Robert Morgan Thomson and Zachary William Webb.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates