Whidbey News-Times


Nine Oak Harbor High School students among 87 honored as Champions of Diversity

January 20, 2013 · Updated 4:08 PM

More than 500 community members attended the 13th annual Champions of Diversity Awards ceremony that honored 87 area high school students for their contributions to diversity in their schools and communities. Among the honorees were nine Oak Harbor High Schools students.

Last month, educational institutions, local businesses and community organizations awarded an all time high of $208,366 in scholarships to 59 seniors who have shown exemplary service in leadership, community service, as well as academic and educational activities.

In addition, the North Cascades Institute provided 10th and 11th grade nominees with an opportunity to participate in a free North Cascades Wild program. Students will have the opportunity to spend next summer canoeing, hiking and completing service projects in North Cascades National Park and Mount Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest.

The December event was sponsored by Skagit Valley College’s Multicultural Student Services and held at McIntyre Hall on the college’s Mount Vernon Campus.

Central Washington University, Eastern Washington University, Skagit Valley College, Evergreen State College, University of Washington - Bothell, University of Washington- Seattle, University of Washington - Tacoma, Washington State University and Western Washington University honored high school students from Skagit and Island counties.


The Champions of Diversity’s Award Ceremony is airing on Comcast channels 10 and 26. It can be viewed on TV10 at 9 a.m., 2 p.m. and 11:30 p.m. It will air on TV26 at 9:30 a.m., 5 p.m. and 9 p.m. Viewers will be able to find both channels’ viewing schedules at the City of Mount Vernon’s website, www.mountvernonwa.gov.


Champions of Diversity Award Winners

All listed award winners attend Oak Harbor High School.

• Sydney Boyer

• Ashley Everett

• Pristinavae Manning

• Courtney Opilas


Scholarship recipients


• University of Washington – Bothell:

Joseph Colston, $10,000

• Washington State University:

Erdylle Macapinlac, $1,500

• Western Washington University:

Micaiah Davis, $6,000

• Skagit Valley College:

Jennifer Landingin, $1,500-$4,000

Sheirelyn Yabao, $1,500-$4,000


Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us