Whidbey News-Times


Oak Harbor Yacht Club ball marks change in leadership

December 20, 2012 · Updated 4:45 PM

Past Commodore Steppe Williford presents the bridge with their burgees and inducts the Oak Harbor Yacht Club trustees and bridge. From left are Lori Rhodenbaugh, Bob Nelson, Ellen Harman, Avis Berney, Paige Stanley, J.J. Jones, Patty McKinnon, Dennis Carter and Bob Greathead. / --

The end of the year signals the change in leadership for the Oak Harbor Yacht Club. Master of Ceremonies Tom Dumit welcomed members and guests at the annual Commodore’s Ball. Steppe Williford, 2012 Commodore, installed those elected in November for the 2013 calendar year.

The following were elected to the OHYC 2013 bridge: Commodore Bob Greathead; Vice Commodore Dennis Carter; Rear Commodore J.J. Jones; Secretary Patty McKinnon; and Treasurer  Paige Stanley. Trustees for 2013 are Avis Berney, Ellen Harman, Tom Hawkins, Bob Nelson, Lori Rhodenbaugh and George Smith. Williford will serve on the board as the past commodore. The bridge and trustees oversee the operations of the Oak Harbor Yacht Club.

The year-end awards are always a highlight of the Commodore’s Ball. Each represents something unique as it relates to the club activities. Past Commodore Williford presented the following awards: Non-Boaters Award — Dutch Strehle; Captain Whidbey Cup — Chad Holcomb and the crew of Yeah Dog; Geoff Hammett Memorial Trophy — Mitch Rinella and the crew of Skamokawa; Reke Zylstra Trophy — Pete Hillberry; Paul Pederson Trophy — Larry Munns; Saltchuck Award — Ralph Rhodenbaugh; First Rate Mate Award — Sally Crelly; Boating Family of the Year Award — Ryan and Ileana Bradley; On-Deck Award — Barbara and Tom Dumit; Long-Distance Cruising Award — Ken and Terri Hulett; Certificate of Appreciation — Sue Karahalios, Avis Berney, Lori Rhodenbaugh and Paige Stanley; and the Commodore’s Award — Dennis Carter.


Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us