Getting the drift: Oak Harbor celebrates Driftwood Day

“Dune Buggy” was made by Team Skallywags, led by Tina Graham. More than 100 people stormed the beach in search of sculpture materials for Driftwood Day Sept. 15.  - Photo courtesy of K.C. Pohtilla
“Dune Buggy” was made by Team Skallywags, led by Tina Graham. More than 100 people stormed the beach in search of sculpture materials for Driftwood Day Sept. 15.
— image credit: Photo courtesy of K.C. Pohtilla

More than 100 people scoured the beach at Windjammer Park for the pieces they needed to create a sculpture.

The seventh annual Driftwood Day, sponsored by the city of Oak Harbor Arts Commission, was held on Sept. 15 at Windjammer Park in Oak Harbor.  Organizers said the event turned out to be a huge success with about 130 people comprising 31 teams participating in the competition.

Approximately 400 spectators also roamed the beach and either built sculptures out of the driftwood and materials they found on the beach or watched as the participants created their masterpieces.

The panel of judges this year was made up of the renowned artist Kevin Pettelle from the Soul in Bronze studio in Sultan, Wash.; Capt. Ed Simmer, Commanding Officer, Naval Hospital Oak Harbor; and Joel Servatius, Oak Harbor city councilman. They certainly had their work cut out for them as they spoke with each group and evaluated each creation.

This year’s 12 winners are:

• “High Tide Award” went to Team Kulju led by Jamie Kulju for their “Annabell’s Butterfly.”

• “Neptune’s Delight” went to Team MacNicholl led by Cooper and Chloe MacNicholl for their “Sunflower.”

• “Windjammer Wonder” went to Team Jedi Wizards led by Sam Loustaunau for their “Charlotte’s Web.”

• “Flotsam & Jetsam” went to Team Beach Bums led by Amy Aspell and Maryanne Proctor for their “Pheonix Rising.”

• “Poseidon’s Prize” went to Team Maxwell led by Nik, Hamber, and Max for their “Coiled Serpent.”

• “Castaway” went to Team Pop Tarts led by Breilynn Schmidt for their “Couch Potato.”

• “Seafarer Sailor” went to Team The Patriots led by Christine Morgan for their “Tri-Symbol (Anchor with Flags).”

• “Beachcomber” went to Team Homola led by John Voet for their “Ft. Casey Lighthouse.”

• “Mermaid’s Masterpiece” went to Team Ryland Family led by Jamie Ryland for their “Mermaid.”

• “Pirate’s Pride” went to Team The Drifters led by Erica Fisher for their “Teepee.”

• “The Crow’s Nest” went to Team Double Ts led by Tamika and Tyler Nastali for their “Mini-House.”

• “People’s Choice” went to Team The Oak Bowlers led by Jason Rogers for their “Bowling Alley.”

The city of Oak Harbor Arts Commission would like to thank all of the participants for their support and for making their creative ideas come alive; to all who came out to watch the works being built and enjoyed the finished masterpieces; to Morgan Mann, Shea Pohtilla and Sydney Pearcy for the artwork drawn on each of the trophies; to all who volunteered their time to help make this event work; Karen Crouch, former city employee and Cac Kamak, senior planner for the city of Oak Harbor; and especially to the panel of judges for taking time out of their weekend to come down to speak with each team and make the tough choices of deciding which teams will be awarded one of the 12 coveted Driftwood Day trophies.

A special thanks goes out to Arts Commissioner Kit Christopherson and the art students from OHHS who helped during the shooting of the KING TV Evening Magazine that aired on Friday, Sept. 14.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates