HOPE volunteer earns national award

HOPE Therapeutic Riding Center volunteer Tina Belle Isle recently earned the President’s Volunteer Service Award. - Contributed photo
HOPE Therapeutic Riding Center volunteer Tina Belle Isle recently earned the President’s Volunteer Service Award.
— image credit: Contributed photo

HOPE Therapeutic Riding Center awarded volunteer Tina Belle Isle, of Oak Harbor, with the President’s Volunteer Service Award, a national honor offered in recognition of volunteer service.

Established in 2003, the award is available on an annual basis to individuals, groups and families who have met or exceeded requirements for volunteer service and have demonstrated exemplary citizenship through volunteering.

HOPE has a long history of volunteer service, with more than 50 volunteers performing community service each year to help students discover their abilities through therapeutic horse riding.

“In his 2002 State of the Union Address, President George W. Bush created the U.S.A. Freedom Corps and called on every American to make a lifelong commitment to volunteer service. The President’s Volunteer Service Award recognizes individuals and families who have answered that call,” said HOPE program director Melissa Jacobe in a press release.

The President’s Volunteer Service Award is an award for volunteer service that every American can aspire to achieve. To be eligible to receive the award, individuals, families and groups submit a record of their annual volunteer service hours to participating certifying organizations, such as HOPE, that will verify the service and deliver the award. Award eligibility for individuals and groups is based on hour requirements varying by age.

“These recipients of the President’s Volunteer Service Award are role models for all Americans. Each volunteer hour contributed makes a difference in improving the quality of life for others, and I encourage everyone to contribute to our community by volunteering. Volunteers bring us closer together as families, as communities and as a nation through their commitment,” Jacobe said.

The award is issued by the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation, a group created by President Bush to recognize the valuable contributions volunteers are making to our nation.

Chaired by two-time Super Bowl champion Darrell Green, with former U.S. senators Bob Dole and John Glenn as honorary co-chairs, the council comprises leaders in government, media, entertainment, business, education, nonprofits and volunteer service organizations and community volunteering.

For information about volunteering for HOPE, contact 360-221-7656, email, or visit

For information about the President’s Volunteer Service Award, visit or call 866-545-5307.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates