A perfect day for perfect cars

David Putnam shows off the Mayor’s Choice trophy won by his 1953 Chevrolet Corvette.   - Photo by Sarah Felger
David Putnam shows off the Mayor’s Choice trophy won by his 1953 Chevrolet Corvette.
— image credit: Photo by Sarah Felger

A combination of hot weather, sunny smiles, and gleaming cars, trucks and motorcycles of all ages and styles attracted a crowd estimated at well over 1,000 auto lovers for Saturday’s Oak Harbor Rotary North Whidbey Car Show held at Windjammer Park. Here are the winners as announced at the awards presentations that afternoon.

Cars Stock

1953 and older: First, owner Douglas Beatie, 1937 Packard Model 120 Sedan; second, owner Murray Aston, 1929 Ford Model A; third, owner Pete Walstrom, 1930 Ford Model A.

1954 through 1963: First, owner Jay Maddox, 1955 Nash Ambassador Lemans Custom; second, owner Barb Vanvliet, 1959 Chevy Impala; third, owner Jack Bittner, 1959 Ford Skyliner.

1964 through 1975: First, owner Gary Swanson, 1967 Chevy Chevelle; second, owner Rock Talbot, 1969 Dodge Super Bee; third, owner Guy Anderson, 1969 Chevy Camaro Z28.

1976 through 1990: First, owner Jim and Carole Croft, 1979 Chevy Camaro; second, owner Barry Tesch, 1980 Pontiac Trans Am Pace Car; third, owner Jim and Carole Croft, 1985 Ford Thunderbird.

1991 through present: First, owner Sonny Martinez, 2008 Chevy Corvette; second, owner Dave and Suzette Keller, 2008 Chevy; third, owner Karen and Brent Steward, 2010 Dodge Challenger.

Cars Altered

1959 and older: First, owner David Putnam, 1959 Chevy Corvette; second, owner Donald Burd, 1956 Chevy 150 Post; third, owner Steve McIver, 1955 Chevy 210 Del Ray.

1960 to 1975: First, owner Jack Christianson, 1969 Pontiac GTO; second, owner Ken Thomas, 1968 Chey Camaro; third, owner Will Sall, 1968 Chevy Camaro.

1976 through present: First, owner Dan Champlin, 1976 Chevy Camaro; second, owner Glen Ritz, 2002 Chevy Corvette ZO6; third, owner Mike Buzzard, 1977 Chevy Nova.

Cars Custom

All years; First, owner Roy Weaver, 1940 Ford pickup; second, owner Andrew Piplinski, 1965 Ford Cobra replica; third, owner Ray Southard, 1939 Ford Deluxe Coupe.

Street Rods

1933 and older: First, owner Joe Peterson, 1932 Ford Victoria; second, owner Joe Huden, 1923 Ford T-Bucket; third, owner Barbara and Denny Rice, 1931 Chevy Roadster.

1934 to present: First, owner Clayton George, 1934 Ford 3-Window Coupe; second, owner Don Souza, 1934 Ford Roadster 5 Window; third, owner Ray Oban, 1927 Ford Roadster.

Imported cars

1985 and older: First, owner Rudy Parhaniem, 1960 Jaguar XK 150 FHC; second, owner Dick Reed, 1966 Austin Healey, 300 MK III; third, owner Deanna Rogers, 1972 Austin Mini Cooper Sedan.

1866 to present: First, owner Don Anderson, 1999 Mazda Miata MX-5; second, owner Jason Falkner, 2009 Nissan Cube; third, owner Thomas Eisner, 1994 Honda Civic.

High Performance Imported Cars

All years: First, owner Jerry Johnson, 1962 Austin Healey Sebring MX; second, owner Eric Moss, 2001 Lexus I5-300; third, owner Sam Zamzou, 2004 Subaru WRX St.

Specialty (unique vehicle)

All years: First, owner Rick and Laurie Benson, 1941 Willys Coupe; second, owner Pat and Lynne Lang, 1965 Shelby Cobra Daytona Coupe; third, owner Lynn Holmes, 1992 Peterbilt 377.

Trucks Stock

All years: First, owner Jerry Lubinski, 1931 Ford Tow Truck; second, owner Russell Mudder, 1963 Chevy Pickup; third, owner Gary Formhals, 1930 Ford Pickup.

Trucks Altered

All years: First, owner Bob Peterson, 1946 Chevy Pickup; second, owner Randy Eggen, 1955 Chevy Pickup; third, owner Adam Lysene, 1955 Chevy Pickup.

4X4 Trucks

All years: First, owner Jeff Jackson, 2001 Jeep Wrangler; second, owner Risa Jackson, 2010 Roketa 6K-12; third, owner Caleb Winterbottom, 1996 Dodge 1500.

Low Riders

All years: First, owner Justi Truex, 1964 Chevy Impala; second, owner Junior Alvarado, 1976 Chey Caprice; third, owner Steve Vogel, 1974 Chevy Caprice.

Muscle Car

All years: First, owner Dwight Tesch, 1970 Plymouth Road Runner; second, owner Terry Hill, 1967 Shelby GT500; third, owner Carole and Jim Croft, 1970 Chevy SS-454.


All years: First, owner Michael Mahoney, 2000 Indian Chief; second, owner K. Yi, 2008 Harley Street Glide; third, owner Scot Lange, 1973 Norton Chopper.

Special Awards

Mayor’s Choice: 1959 Chevy Corvette, owner David Putnam.

Commander’s Choice: 1963 Chevy Corvette, owner Gary Guernsey.

Editor’s Choice: 1953 Ford Customline, owner Lynn Holmes.

Auto Parts: 1969 Dodge Super Bee, owned by Roger Talbot.

Les Schwab: 1969 Harley Davidson Street Glide, owned by K. Yi.

Best of Show: 1941 Willys Coupe, owned by Rick and Lauri Benson.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates